Last playgroup and hydro

It’s the end of the year and the ‘silly season’ is about to kick off or possibly already has! I don’t really mind as our Christmas tree and decorations are up and all gifts are wrapped and hidden in our walk-in-robe! We have bought some more outdoor Christmas lights and it looks awesome and the kids loves it! Things you have to do when there is no snow outside and both Mike and I get pretty excited about it…! Though I wish the inside of my house looked like the picture below, it looks amazing! Just need an open fire and a dog..
IMG_6043

Both Nathan and Cayla are going well but I think we can all agree that it will be nice with a long Summer holiday soon. It’s been a great year so far and Cayla has come so far in many areas which we are so happy about. Her speech is not amazing but she is definitely improving! I feel so much better after we found out that she got a place at the Fremantle Language Development Centre (LDC). Not sure if she understand but we have told her that she is starting a new school next year and bought her a dress (uniform) which she loves. It’s a little bit sad that the kids are not going to be at the same school but at the same time I know that for Cayla this is an amazing opportunity and we are all still jumping out of joy that she got a place! Today we went to TCCP for her last playgroup and hydro pool session and met up with Cayla’s little friend Sienna. It’s a bit sad that we won’t go to TCCP for playgroup and hydro anymore and it’s crazy that she is starting full-time school next year.. I reckon I will feel really lost for a few weeks, or days at least ;)
Sienna
Cayla and Sienna

Well, it’s crazy how time flies but I have finished my big training load in preparation for the 6inch trail marathon (47km) on the 15th December! It’s been full on the last four months but I have really tried to take every day and week as it comes and put in my absolute best. I was doing fine until a couple of weeks ago when I did about 90km of running in one week, after that I started to get a little niggle in my calf. Went for a sports massage (or three..) but it wasn’t until I saw the physio for some needling and ultrasound that my leg started to feel better. I have also bought a pair of new shoes which has helped a lot. I really enjoy trail running and find it quite boring to run long on the road now. The first time I went down to North Dandalup where the start for the 6inch Trail Marathon is I really had no trail running experience at all. A friend picked me up at 4.30 in the morning for a 5.30 start. We did 17km out and back without getting too  much lost… and no snake sightings at all! It was a very hot day with 37 degrees so it took us over 4.5 hours but that was including stopping to ‘eat’ 5 carb gels, 3 x wee stops (weird since I never wee on a run.. must have been nervous!) plus getting a bit lost on the way back.
A few weeks ago we headed down to North Dandalup again we decided to do an A-to-B run instead of out-and-back as we wanted to see more of the actual race course. We took two cars and left my car at the 28km mark and drove my friend’s car back to the start and off we went. This race start with a tough climb of 300m over 1.5km.. and we were walking most of it but I’m sure the elite runners will just blast up that hill on the actual race day! We were running along fine until we got to the 17km mark.. that’s when I realised that I had forgotten my car keys in my friend’s car…..!!!!!!!! WTF!!! Very annoying, but luckily we were only 3kms away from the main road that would lead us back to the start. I’m so glad we didn’t run the whole 28kms to my car and then realised this horrible mistake…! I can add that there is absolutely no reception in this area… my friend was not too impressed. So we ran to the main road and then followed it 11kms back to the start. We had run about 31km at this point but our plan was to run 37-38km. My friend had a sore ankle and had enough but I felt really good so decided to do a few more k’s and finished of at 36km. Job done but I am never ever going to forget my keys in someone’s car again..! Lesson learned the hard way..
Last Saturday we did our last long run, it was a run that I was a bit worried about for some reason. We had to do 40km and decided to stay in the city and do this run on a flat road instead of the trails. I had been battling negative thoughts, crappy runs and a sore leg all week so it felt awesome to SMASH out my Peak Long Run of 40km feeling that great! Still can’t quite believe that I just ran 40kms in a training run.. crazy..! It’s amazing how you little by little can condition your body and mind to run long distances. Though there is no doubt that there has been a lot of hard work involved to get where I am today but that just makes this whole experience more satisfying.
Bring on the 6inch! :D
IMG_6184

IMG_6076

IMG_6086

 

Leave a Reply

