Funky Monkey to Red Devil

Another week (or two..) has passed and lots of things has happened! The busy Christmas season has not even started and my calendar is full of things pretty much every day of the week. If I’m not out running or taking Cayla to appointments I’m out photographing a wedding, attending a birthday party, doing paper work, cleaning the house and so on.. but hey, I’m not complaining it’s all good :)

Last Sunday was Tough Mudder and believe it or not I had a GREAT time! It was muddy, wet and crazy but so much fun and I managed to complete all obstacles without too much trouble. Even the “Funky Monkey” (see photo below, I’m to the right in the picture) which was about 20 or so monkey bars to swing across. Plus I didn’t really get electrocuted at all, not sure why but I only got a small zap on my butt when crawling through one of the obstacles and did not get zapped at all in the last crazy 10000v obstacle! It was a very well organised event, great team experience, lots of fun and we will be coming back next year! But next year we’ll bring Gatorade as one of our team members got major cramp the last 5km but he still finished the race!
IMG_5832 IMG_5851

IMG_5862

IMG_5860
ElectroshockTherapy

IMG_5856

The kids had their yearly Sport’s Carnival last week and it was such a hot day, sunny and 35 degrees..! It was Cayla’s first sport’s day and she did so well in her 50m race, yes, she did come last but not by too much. She was so hot and tired afterwards and didn’t really want to join in the obstacles with her friends. I don’t think she was feeling 100% and was actually home with a runny nose the next day poor thing.
_DSC2319Because Cayla wasn’t feeling very well we didn’t do anything for Halloween which was the day after the Sport’s Carnival. However, after seeing heaps of photos of kids out trick or treating on Facebook I felt a huge quilt trip coming over me and decided to be a good Mum, get organised and throw together a Halloween party for the kids on Friday night instead! They loved it and at least now we have some Halloween decorations for next year….!
_DSC2414
IMG_5942

It’s not long until the 6inch trail ultra marathon and I’m training most days of the week. My midweek long run is up to 17km and because Mike is out cycling that morning I have to do this run on the treadmill….. yes people.. 17 kilometres on a treadmill!! It’s beyond boring…….. but sometimes you just have to get the job done..
IMG_5874Starting to get a few niggles here and there so trying to be good with the foam roller and have regular sports massage to keep it at bay.
My upper back and calves were pretty sore after Tough Mudder, not used to all those obstacles!
I have recently started a 30day cleanse and detox program with only natural products in the form of shakes and supplements. I’m using these products as add-ons to my usual diet as I’m not trying to lose weight and burning a lot of calories from running. I’m only on day 5 but hoping that it will give me some extra energy which will be great in the weeks leading up to the trail marathon in December. At the moment I’m feeling a bit so and so to be honest but probably because my body is getting rid of horrible toxins. Hopefully it will change for the better in due course! I did 31km on Sunday morning and felt pretty good. This weekend I’m doing 35km on the trails with a friend. She’s picking me up at 4.30am as it will probably take us about 4-4.5 hours and it’s going to be a very hot day on Sunday. Hopefully we won’t get lost… or step on a snake….! There has been quite a few snake sightings lately….. maybe I should stick to road marathons instead..!austrailia_kill_you

Today we’ve been to TCCP as Cayla had an appointment with Dana and Michael at The Lower Limb and Foot Clinic. We see them about once or twice a year to review Cayla’s gait (walk pattern) and talk about serial casting and so on to improve things. I was expecting 3-4 weeks of serial casting as we always do this after Botox and was just hoping they didn’t want Cayla to have serial casting on both feet…. But you know what! Her range of movement is pretty good and they didn’t think she needed any serial casting done at all this time…!!! Yeah! Yeah! Yeah! Woooohoooooooooooo!!! I’m so happy I could fly to heaven! We just have to continue to aim for overall symmetry and do exercises where she will put more weight on her left foot by riding on her scooter and so on. Cayla’s physio Megan will see her for a few physio therapy sessions and give us a new home program to work on for the next few months. First a place at the Fremantle Language Development school and now no serial casting – happy days!

IMG_5964

IMG_5965

Leave a Reply

