Bikram Yoga

My training has been a bit so and so the last couple of months.. I was doing really well until my 1/2 marathon in Joondalup end of May this year but after travelling to Sweden it slowly went downhill…! It was a complete change to train in rain instead of lovely sunshine that we are so spoilt with here in Perth! I could have just relaxed on my holiday but as I had already entered a 1/2 marathon in Stockholm in June I had no choice but to keep it up! :) So I did, and on the same day as Dan & Linda’s wedding I ran 21km in beautiful (but hilly!) countryside around Vallentuna Lake. It was a pretty cold and windy day and I was freezing cold at about the 12k mark and ready to pull out… but after gulping down a gel and challenged my mental strength I finished the race in 2 hours and 9 minutes. Not an amazing time but just glad to have finished! :) It was such a well organised race and all the participants were very well looked after before, during and after the run, gotta love Swedish organisation! I spent some time stretching afterwards and then quickly drove home to shower and change into a dress for Dan & Linda’s wedding. I slept with a pair of compression socks that night and so glad I did as my legs felt pretty good the next day!
Back in Perth and I have just invested in some new running gear! New shoes (mizuno inspire), 2XU compression pants, sports bra and socks :) I buy most of my gear from The Running Centre as they give excellent service and also gives me great discounts!

Something else I will buy is a foam roller, they hurt like hell but work like magic on your sore muscles. My friend Maria’s partner Shawn is a PT and  crossfit guru in Gothenburg and he recently gave me a lesson in foam rolling – ouch!! Check out his website here.
I have found a running group south of the river that I might join for some interval and strength training on the weekdays. Talking about strength training, today I did my first Bikram Yoga class!
This type of yoga consists of 26 postures and 2 breathing exercises all conducted in a very hot (about 40 degrees) and humid room over 90 minutes. I was sweating so much that I didn’t think was possible and sometimes had to sit down on my mat as I felt a bit faint.. It was an interesting experience and I am not sure I either loved it or hated it… weird but I know that I will soon return for another class! I bought their introduction pass for $20 which means unlimited training over the next 10 days to really get a feel for it.

Next up is City to Surf on the 26th of August. We are a couple of girls doing the 12k run which should be a lot of fun! :)

3 thoughts on “Bikram Yoga

Leave a Reply

